CCGMedia :: ECSU :: URE :: NIA :: Main Conference Page :: Photos 1 :: Photos 2

Students from Elizabeth City State University joined with students from Norfolk State University at the 2006 Minorities in Research Conference September 15-17 in Baltimore, Maryland. Participants in this conference included employers and institutions of higher learning in order to provide encouragement and promote educational opportunities for minorities in these fields. Workshops included:

  • "Research Opportunities in Non-Research Companies"
  • "Corporate Career Counseling"
  • "Funding for Research and Development"
  • "Where is the New Science Talent?"
  • "DIEL Life: Success and Survival Guide"

Students also attended the Emerald Honors Awards Dinner honoring minority leaders in science and research. Some of these awardees at this years gala included:

  • Scientist of the Year - Abhijit Mahalanobis, Ph.D.
  • Career Achievement - Industry - Wendy Reed Williams, Ph.D.
  • Career Achievement - Government - Jonathan Ransom, Ph.D. & Ashok Kuman, Ph.D.
  • Most Promising Scientist - Malika Jeffries-El, Ph.D. & Justin Shekwoga Baba, Ph.D.
  • Professional Acheivement - Industry - Haron Haynie, Ph.D. & Sylvia King
  • Professional Achievement - Government - John Abrefah, Ph.D. & Arthur Davis, D.V.M.
  • Senior Investigator - Venkatesh Krishnan, Ph.D. & Michael Smith
  • Senior Technology Fellow - Jack C. Roberts, Ph.D. & Herren Wu, Ph.D.
  • Presidents Award - Wayne Greaves, M.D. & Tammara Combs Turner
ECSU Students shown here with Dr. Abhijit Mahalanobis, Scientist of the Year, during the Emerald Honors Awards Gala.
ECSU Undergraduate Research Experience
1704 Weeksville Road, Box 672, Elizabeth City, North Carolina 27909
Phone (252) 335-3696 Fax (252) 335-3790