top-left 12x1 Top-right
w HomeStaffTeamsSchedulePhotosTravelResources w

The Chancellor’s Distinguished International Visiting Scholar Lecture Series Luncheon

Professor Mohan Munasinghe
2007 Nobel Peace Prize Co-Winner on Global Warming

July 21, 2008 in the KE White Center, 12-1:30pm

NOTE: Watch Live at: mms://mms.ecsu.edu/ecsulive

Munasinghe Co-Sponsors
The Division of Academic Affairs
The Global Leadership Academy
The Center for Scientific Visualization
The Center for Remote Sensing of Ice Sheets
The Center of Excellence in Remote Sensing Education and Research

July 21, 2008
K.E. White Center Banquet Room
12:00pm - 1:30pm
RSVP by July 11, 2008
(252) 335-3630


Prof. Mohan Munasinghe is Vice Chairman of the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) in Geneva, co-winner of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize for work on global warming.

Born in Sri Lanka in 1945, he has earned post-graduate degrees in engineering, physics and development economics from Cambridge University (UK), Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA), and McGill University and Concordia University (Canada). He has also received several honorary doctorates (honoris causa).

Currently, he is Chairman, Munasinghe Inst. of Development (MIND), Colombo; Honorary Senior Advisor to the Sri Lanka Govt.; and Visiting Professor, United Nations University, Tokyo. During 35 years of distinguished public service, he has served as Senior Energy Advisor to the President of Sri Lanka, Advisor to the United States Presidents Council on Environmental Quality, and Senior Advisor/Director, World Bank. He has taught as Visiting Professor at a number of leading universities worldwide.

He has won many international prizes and medals for his research and its applications. He has authored 90 books and over three hundred technical papers on economics, sustainable development, climate change, power, energy, water resources, transport, environment, disasters, and information technology. He is a Fellow of several internationally recognized Academies of Science, and serves on the editorial boards of a dozen academic journals.