Space Mission Involvement Videoconference 115LH
Goal: To help educator understand the NASA Strategic Plan which mandates that the Office of Space Science involve the education community in its endeavors to inspire America's students, create learning opportunities, enlighten inquisitive minds and communicate widely the content, relevancy, and excitement of NASA's mission and discoveries.
The registration web pages for the Workshop on Dec. 9-10, 1999 at Rm. 115 LH can be found at

You may also call (252)335-3696 for more information.
MU-SPIN Space Mission Invovlement Workshop Agenda

Thursday, December 9, 1999
10:00am - 10:20am Welcome, Introductions, Background, and Purpose
Mr. James Harrington, MU-SPIN Project Manager
10:20am - 10:40am Space Science Program Overview
10:40am - 11:15am Explorer Program Overview - Mr. Jim Barrowman,
Explorer Program Manager
11:15am - 11:55am NASA Research Annoucements(NRA), With Demo
Dr. J. David Bohlin, Office of Space Science
11:55am - 12:55pm Lunch
12:55pm - 1:15pm How NASA Picks Winners for Funding Announcements
Dr. Paul Hertz, Naval Research Laboratory
1:15pm - 1:45pm What it Takes to Do a Space Science Mission
Dr. Jim Green, Chief, Space Science Data Operations Office
1:45pm - 2:15pm How Technology Contributes to Space Science Missions
2:15pm - 3:15pm Principal or Co-Investigator Insights
Dr. George Carruthers, Naval Research Laboratory
Dr. Donald Walter, South Carolina State University
Dr. Fred BeGay, Los Alamos National Lab
3:15pm - 3:30pm Break
3:30pm - 4:10pm Questions and Answers From the Floor - Panel
4:10pm - 4:40pm Recent Experience With Space Science Program
Dr. Nagi Wakim, Bowie State University
4:30pm - 5:00pm Wrap-up

Friday, December 10, 1999
10:00am - 10:15am Logistics - Mr. James Harington, MU-SPIN Project Manager
10:15am - 10:45am Recent Experience with Space Science Program(Continued)
Dr. Aprille Ericson-Jackson, Aerospace Engineer; and an Instrument Scientist
10:45am - 11:15am Questions and Answers From the Floor - Panel
11:15am - 11:45am Where Do We Go From Here? - Mr. James Harrington
11:45am - 12:00noon Final Wrap-up

Videoconference Photos

ECSU Participants
  • Dr. Georgia Lawrence
  • Dr. Akbar Eslami
  • Dr. Linda Hayden
  • Mr. Ervin Howard
  • Mrs. Lavonn McClain
  • Ms. Patricia Gibbs
  • Mrs. Kaleema Overton Mclean
  • Mrs. Marie Koltoniak
  • Mr. Robert Harris
  • Mrs. Julie Ellingsen
Related Links

Return to NRTS