1
    1 NICE NASA NIA CERSER UNH ECSU
NICE
Home
 
News
1
Virginia SpaceLink Newsletter
Summer of Innovation Grants
 
Upcoming Events
1
NICE Calendar
NICE Webinars
 
Recent Events
1
NOBCChE STEM
NICE @ Grambling
2014 Planning Meeting
2013 AGU
2013 PI Meeting
2013 Climate Change Workshop
2012 AGU
GSU Presentations
2012 Recruitment Trip for Cohort 2
2012 Climate Change Workshop
2012 UNH URC
NICE/GLOBE Workshops
2012 Tri-Agency PI Meeting
STEM Conference Recruitment
New PI Orientation
2011 Climate Change Workshop
2011 NASA Langley Tour
MSI Technical Conference, Recruitment
 
Cohort Documents
1
Ervin Howard
Waneene Dorsey
Loretta Jaggers
Trina Spencer & Leslie Whiteman
Anuradha Dujari
Gulnihal Ozbay
Chunlei Fan
Jan Duncan
Sheryl Bradford
Candace Carter-Stevens
Kaiem Frink
 
Program Documents
1
Statement of Work
Project Evaluation
Management Structure
2012 Progress Report
2013 Progress Report
IRB Approval Letter
 
Graduate Student Assistants
1
Patrina Bly
Justin Deloatch
 
NASA NICE Climate Change Workshop
 

August 6-10, 2012 Workshop for MSI Faculty
Elizabeth City State University

Elizabeth City State University joined with the University of New Hampshire under the NASA Innovations in Climate Education (NICE) Program to empower faculty of education programs at Minority Serving Institutions to better engage their pre-service teachers in teaching and learning about global climate change through the use of NASA Earth observation sets. The workshop provided the faculty with approaches to understanding climate change and its impacts on terrestrial and ocean ecosystems. The faculty conducted field work that emphasizes place-based pedagogy. They worked with an ecological model in STELLA that utilizes authentic inputs from historical and future climate scenario parameters, with NASA satellite imagery data from the MODIS and SeaWiFS sensors, and discussed the challenges and approaches to integrating all or some of the lessons into their courses.

Participant Contacts
Gulnibal Ozbay, Professor, Delaware St., Fisheries & Allied Aquacultures
gozbay@desu.edu, 302-233-453

Guana Dixon, Asst. Prof., ECSU, Chemistry Education
gdixon@mail.ecsu.edu, (252) 335-3499

Ervin Howard, Instructor, ECSU, Technology Education
emhoward@mail.ecsu.edu, 252-628-0558

Josiah Sampson,  Asst. Prof., ECSU, Biology Education
jjsampsoniii@gmail.com, 615-306-8988

Loretta Jaggers, Professor, Grambling, Education
jaggerslw@gram.edu, 318-274-2122

Waneene Dorsey, Professor, Grambling, Biology
dorseywc@gram.edu, 318-278-4638

Krista S. Hines, Instructor, HU, Mathematics Education
Krista.hines@hamptonu.edu, 757-727-5909

Remata Reddy, Asso.Prof., Jackson St., Meteorology/Climatology
remata.s.reddy@jsums.edu, 601-979-3636

Vanessa Figgers, Asst. Prof., JCSU, Mathematics Education
vfiggers@jcsu.edu, 704-378-1153

Chunlei Fan, Professor, Morgan St., Geology/GIS
Chunlei.fan@morgan.edu, (443) 885-4468

Candace Carter-Stevens, Asst. Prof., MVSU, Science/Math Education
ccarter@mvsu.edu. 662-254-3398

Arthur Bowman, Professor, NSU, Biology
awbowman@nsu.edu, 757-753-5734

Ronald White, Instructor, NSU, Math/Educational Psych
rlwhite@nsu.edu, 757-823-8737

Yvonne Coston, Asst. Prof., St Aug., Mathematics Education
YCoston@st-aug.edu, 919-215-2457

Leslie Whiteman, Professor, VSU, Biology Education
lwhiteman@vsu.edu, 804-524-5722

Trina Spencer, Professor, VSU, Educational Planning
tspencer@vsu.edu, 804-524-6165

  UNH
  Representatives from the University of New Hampshire
 
UNH UNH UNH UNH UNH
Mary Martin Steve Hale Timothy Moore Erik Froburg Haley Wicklein
  NICE
 
Photo Library >> Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Day 4 Day 5
 
NICE
L>R: Dr. Linda Hayden, Dr. W. Eric Thomas, Dr. Harry Bass, Dr. Charles Cherry, Dr. Darnell Johnson
NICE Workshop Participants
NICE NICE NICE NICE NICE
Gulnibal Ozbay
DSU
Implementation Plan
Guana Dixon
ECSU
Implementation Plan
Josiah Sampson
ECSU
Implementation Plan
Loretta Jaggers
GSU
Implementation Plan
Ervin Howard
ECSU
Implementation Plan
Graphic Organizer
         
NICE NICE NICE NICE NICE
Waneene Dorsey
GSU
Implementation Plan
Krista Hines
HU
Implementation Plan
Remata Reddy
JSU
Vanessa Figgers
JCSU
Chunlei Fan
MSU
         
NICE NICE NICE NICE NICE
Arthur Bowman
NSU
Implementation Plan
Ronald White
NSU
Implementation Plan
Yvonne Coston
SAU
Implementation Plan
Leslie Whiteman
VSU
Implementation Plan
Trina Spencer
VSU
Implementation Plan
         
NICE NICE NICE    
Candace
Carter-Stevens
MVSU
Implementation Plan
Linda Hayden
PI-ECSU
Darnell Johnson
Program
Coordinator
   
  NICE
   
1NICE