



IEEE ECSU Student Branch #66221 Minutes Tuesday, February 12, 2008

The initial meeting of the IEEE ECSU Student Branch #66221 was held on Tuesday Feb 12, 2008 6pm in 229 Dixon Hall on the campus of Elizabeth City State University. Dr. Linda Hayden, president of the Eastern North Carolina Chapter of the IEEE-GRSS, called the meeting to order. Dr. Hayden read the letter written by Cecelia Jankowski, Managing Director of IEEE Regional Activities that approved our petition to reactivate an IEEE Student Branch at ECSU. The Student Branch is located in Region 1. Dr. Malcolm LeCompte, Branch Counselor, presented the Student Branch Chapter Certificate.

The next order of business was the election of officers. A discussion was held which described the duties of each office of president, vice president, secretary and treasurer. More officers including committee chairmen may be elected at future meetings. Nominations for each office were made by the membership and a secret ballot was held. The elected officers were:

President - Je'aime Powell

Vice President - Tiwana Walton

Secretary - Wanda Marie-Carey

Treasurer - Lee Smalls, Jr.

Dr. Lloyd Mitchell gave the first lecturer for the chapter on the study of ice cracks titled "Applications and Utilization of the Ice Crack Classification System in an Era of Global Climate Change." His presentation can be found at <u>http://nia.ecsu.edu/ieee/student/events/080212mtg/</u> in PowerPoint format. Student researcher, Kaiem Frink, also gave a presentation on the scientific skills he attained while in the Center of Excellence in Remote Sensing Education and Research (CERSER) Program and the various experiences such as internships, conferences, and workshops he had attended and conducted.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:20pm and a reception followed with a cake that congratulated the membership on the formation of the new chapter. The next meeting of the chapter will be held on March 18, 2008, 5:30 pm in 229 Dixon Hall.

Respectfully submitted

Dr. Linda Hayden