

IEEE Geosciences and Remote Sensing Chapter Eastern North Carolina Section – R30171, GRS29 Administrative Meeting Minutes for August 21, 2018



Present Chair: Dr. Linda Hayden In attendance: Dr. Johnny Houston Tho Derek Morris Tany Jessica Hathaway Kev

Thomas Johnson III Tangee Beverly Kevin Benton

Joselyn Hathaway Edsel Norwood II Reginald Kelley Disaiah Bennett Lilshay Rogers Jeff Wood

The meeting was opened at 5:05pm in 229 Dixon Hall by Dr. Linda Hayden who gave an overview of the Science Gateways Community Institute and its Workforce Development opportunities. Dr. Hayden welcomed the students back for the 2018-2019 academic year. Students discussed their summer internship experiences including Thomas Johnson III at TACC; Disaiah Bennett at IBM; Edsel Norwood at Lawrence Berkley Labs and others.

Dr. Johnny Houston, Chapter Vice President challenged the group to learn more about IEEE and its organizational structure. He announced the upcoming distinguished lecture featuring Dr. Peter Eley.

Dr. Hayden led the election of the new slate of officers. Jessica Hathaway moved to accept the slate of officers. Kevin Benton seconded the motion. The motion passed approving the following student officers

Edsel Norwood, President Thomas Johnson III, Vice President Lilshay Rogers, Secretary Joselyn Hathaway, Treasurer

The meeting was adjourned at 6:45pm. Pizza was served

Respectfully submitted, Jeff Wood, Chapter Secretary