

## IEEE Geosciences and Remote Sensing Chapter Eastern North Carolina Section – R30171, GRS29 Minutes for February 14, 2014



Michael Cobb Michael Jefferson Jr

Nigel Pugh

Patrina Bly

Present Chair: Dr. Linda Hayden In attendance:

Dr. Darnell Johnson
Dr. Linda Hayden
Dr. Lloyd Mitchell
Dr. Malcolm LeCompte
Dr. Sheryl Bradford
Alicia Reynolds
Andrew Brumfield
Brianna Williams

Courtney Farmer

Derek Morris Jr.
Dorothy Cartwright
Dorothy Crumity
Je'aime Powell
Jeff Wood
Jefferson Ridgeway
Justin M. Deloatch

Jeff Wood Rashida Williams
Jefferson Ridgeway Antonio Guion
Justin M. Deloatch Tori Wilbon
Kevin Jones Willie Brown
Khaliq Satchell

- 1. Dr. Linda Hayden opened the meeting, welcoming guests and recognizing new members to the chapter.
- 2. Mr. Jeff Wood read the minutes from the July 10, 2013 meeting. Motion to accept was made by Andrew Brumfield and seconded by Toni Guion.
- 3. Dr. Malcolm LeCompte introduced the speaker and provided background to the research.
- 4. Mr. Michael Cobb of Elizabeth City State University presented "Early North Carolina Colonial and Native American Ground Penetrating Radar Site Surveyal." In collaboration with MOA, a high-resolution GPR survey was performed of a known Native American settlement site that existed in close proximity to early colonial habitations near Edenton, NC, on the Chowan River. The survey was designed to reveal the presence of any buried remnant structures that might indicate adoption by Native Americans of cultural features of colonial life such as defensive fortifications, or structures that may have served either religious or commercial purposes such as a church or trading post.
- 5. Dr. Hayden presented an overview of past IGARSS meetings in Melbourne, Australia and Munich, Germany. She then presented the upcoming meeting to be held in Quebec City, Canada in July of 2014.
- 6. Two empty positions for the chapter, vice-president of programs and vice-president of administration, received nominations. Andrew Brumfield made a motion that they to accept their nominations and it was seconded by Dr. Malcolm LeCompte. Mr. Willie Brown and Dr. Lloyd Mitchell accepted the nominations and were voted into their positions.
- 7. Dr. Hayden closed the meeting.