





Present Chair: Dr. Linda Hayden

In Attendance: Ambrose Jerald Julie Williams

Barrett Rock Eleanor Abram Karen Graham Cameron Wake Robert George James Harrington Phil Dustan Anngienetta Johnson William Porter Kathleen Fischer Francisco San Juan Malcolm LeCompte Gloria Phoenix Ephraim Gwebu Maurice Powers Darnell Johnson Kristi Lee Karitsa Williams Joanelle Baptiste Jeff Wood Anthony Anderson Kaiem Frink Joal Hathaway Chris Edwards Kuchumbi Hayden Dane Herring Jerome Mitchell Danielle Graves

Demetrius Rorie Hirendranath Banerjee

Apologies: Keisha Wilkins Elizabeth Noble

- 1. The last IEEE meeting was held on Thursday November 18, 2004
- 2. The distinguished lecturer was Dr. Phil Dustan, Professor of Biology at the University of South Carolina-Charleston. The topic was Remote Sensing of Coral Reefs and Change Detection. Dr. Robert George also discussed the status of plans for the 2006 North Carolina Coastal Ecosystem Symposium.
- 3. Meeting called to order by Dr. Linda Hayden
- 4. Items discussed at the meeting included:
 - Reports and Minutes were read by Mr. Napoleon Paxton. The minutes were accepted as read.
 - Dr. Hayden, Kristi Lee and Karitsa Williams made a report of the IGARSS 2004 conference in Anchorage Alaska Sept 20-24, 2004. The theme of the conference was "Science for Society Exploring and Managing a Changing Planet." Fifteen students received travel support to attend the conference through a minority travel

- grant. Two of which were ECSU students, Karitsa Williams and Danielle Graves. Dr. Linda Hayden also presented a paper at IGARSS'05.
- Election of a new Vice President who will be the ExCom meeting representative from our chapter was held. Motion to elect Dr. William Porter as the new Vice President was made by Dr. Malcolm LeCompte and seconded by Dr. Lloyd Mitchell.
- Membership Campaign was discussed. Decision taken was to allocate \$500 of the ONR grant money to students and \$1000 to faculty members. It was decided that the chapter would pay \$100 towards IEEE renewals and that members would be responsible for the remaining \$75.00. New members Dr. Darnell Johnson and Dr. Lloyd Mitchell were welcomed to their first meeting.
- Webpage committee reported. Anthony Anderson and Napoleon Paxton make up that committee. The information included on the webpage is highlights from meetings, officer information, minutes and upcoming events.
- Next meeting is scheduled for March 3, 2005. Dr. Scott Hensley, Radar Engineer, NASA JPL will discuss Mapping the World's Topography from Space – The Shuttle Radar Topology.
- Other upcoming events announced included IGARSS 2005 in Seoul Korea.
- 5. No Further Business. Motion to adjourned was made by Dr. Malcolm LeCompte and seconded by Dr. Darnell Johnson

Submitted by:

Keisha Harrison, Secretary

IEEE Geosciences and Remote Sensing Chapter Eastern North Carolina Section