

## IEEE Geosciences and Remote Sensing Chapter Eastern North Carolina Section – R30171, GRS29 Minutes for October 19, 2006



Present Chair: Dr. Linda Hayden

## In Attendance:

Joal Hathaway	Lee Hayden	Jeff Wood	Malcom LeCompte
Keisha Wilkins	Charles Luther	Geoffrey Fox	Constance Bland
Karl Barnes	Elizabeth Noble	William Porter	Willie Gilchrist
Alex Ramirez	Prasad Gogineni	Gary Webber	Kuchumbi Hayden
Derrick Wilkins	Johnny Houston	Jinchun Yuan	Darnell Johnson
Jermaine Moore	Kordarius Berry	Carrie Williams	Unquiea Wade
Kaiem Frink	Lee Small	Jamika Baltrop	Anthony Anderson
Bryce Carmichael	Tiwana Walton	TreAsia Fields	Brandi Brehon
Gregory Brown	Cheniece Arthur	Jerome Mitchell	Jasmin Rivers
Jocelyn Fry	Shalina Love	Ebony Addison	Kevin Reynolds
Antonio Staton	Grace Ajumobi	Emily Ajumobi	Tim Calabrese
Jamita Baker	Eric Kufleitner	Myra Sawyer	Michelle Ajumobi
Rebecca Williams	Hope Johnson	Olivia Griffin	Michael Costa
Kanika Bryant	Heather Potersnak	Matt Bishop	Leanne Burton
Steve Brickhouse	Tiffany Johnson	Daniel Prescott	Raechel Attaway

- 1. The last IEEE meeting was held on Thursday, October 19<sup>th</sup>, 2006.
- 2. The Meeting was called to order by the chapter President, Dr. Linda Hayden.
- 3. Dr. Willie Gilchrist, chancellor at Elizabeth City State University, welcomed participants. He challenged students to grab hold to Dr. Hayden's coattail and to use the Office of Naval Research Program to help them succeed in their academic and professional careers.
- 4. An introduction of the speaker was made by Dr. Darnell Johnson, Chair of the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science.
- 5. Our distinguished lecturer was Dr. Geoffrey Fox, Director of Community Grids Laboratory: Pervasive Technology at Indiana University. His talk was titled, "Implementation of a Polar Science TeraGrid Gateway for SAR and other CReSIS Data Sets".
- 6. Minutes were read by Mrs. Keisha Wilkins. The minutes were accepted as read.
- 7. The IEEE Eastern North Carolina Executive Committee Update was given by Dr. William Porter, GRSS chapter vice president.
- 8. Three new members were welcomed into our chapter by Mrs. Elizabeth Noble, membership chairperson. The new members were Dr. Constance Bland, Dr. Andrea Lawrence, and Mr. Karl Barnes.
- 9. Closing remarks were made by Mr. Charles Luther, past president of IEEE-GRSS.
- 10. A motion to adjourn was made by Dr. Malcolm LeCompte. The motion was seconded by Ms. Karitsa Williams.
- 11. The meeting was adjourned by Dr. Linda Hayden.