



Present Chair: Dr. Linda Hayden

In attendance:
Alex Doyal
Bernard Lynch
Brandon Lindstrom
Bryce Carmichael
Caneisha Newsome
Chelsea Vick
Christopher Burnette
Chudney Hill
Cynthia Warrick
Darnell Johnson
Daron Harris

Deauna Froneburger Derontae Crandall Drew Spence Eric Akers Ernest Wilson H. Leon Pringle Jeaime Powell Jean Bevins Jeff Wood JerNettie Burney JerQuan Riddick

Jinchun Yuan Joal Hathaway Johnathon Poston Jordan Riley Joyce Bevins Justin Deloatch Kanika Jones Kay Wittenberg Keiosha Moon Lee Godley III Lee Smalls Jr. Lottie Nolan Marcellus Sims Michael Austin Michael Jefferson MyAsia Reid Nahdyir Thomas Nathan Hampton Patrina Bly Robyn Evans Ryan Statzer Ryan Winder Serenity Pender Shauntavia Sawyer Sterling Brown Tevin Baskerville Thomas Smith Tracy Buchanan Triston Bonds Unquiea Wade Xavier Mitchell Zach Stone

- 1. The last IEEE meeting was held on October 10, 2008.
- 2. The meeting was called to order by the chapter President, Dr. Linda Hayden.
- 3. The minutes were read by Mr. Jeff Wood, ECSU GRSS Branch Secretary. The minutes were accepted as read.
- 4. Dr. Hayden spoke about the past GRSS lectures and events including the 2008 IGARSS Symposium. Students who attended IGARSS 2008 spoke of their experiences (MyAsia Reid, Patrina Bly, Unquiea Wade). Presenters at IGARSS 2008 included:

Dr. Darnell Johnson, Chair of the Mathematics and Computer Science Department - "You Be the Polar Scientist: Design and Implementation of Underrepresented K-12 Student Involvement in Knowledge Transfer Activities Related To Remote Sensing Of Ice Sheets"

Dr. Malcolm LeCompte - "Measuring the Temperature of Polar Ice Sheets"

Unquiea Wade - "Airborne Measurement of Snow Thickness Over Sea Ice"

Kaiem Frink - "Overcoming Bandwidth and Satellite Communications Limitations to Accelerate Applications of Remote Sensing and High Performance Computing for African Development: Contributions from Egypt, Nigeria and South Africa"

- 5. Mr. Je'aime Powell, President of the ECSU GRSS Branch, then opened a meeting of the student branch chapter. Minutes for this meeting can be found at the student branch site: <u>http://nia.ecsu.edu/ieee/student/</u>
- 6. The IEEE Eastern North Carolina Executive Committee and membership update was given by Dr. William Porter, GRSS chapter vice president. Topics covered included:
 - a. Watershed Watch Program Opportunities
 - b. Membership application process
 - c. IEEE- Eastern North Carolina Section Award Luncheon
- 7. A welcome to the Distinguished Lecture was given by Dr. Darnell Johnson, Chair of the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science. He acknowledged participation of the CReSIS partners by way of video conference.
- 8. The guest speaker was introduced by Dr. Eric Akers, ECSU Assistant Professor with CERSER.
- 9. Our speaker was Dr. Gerald Benitz, PhD, Electrical Engineering, University of Wisconsin–Madison. His lecture was titled "Adaptive SAR Results with the LiMIT Testbed." Dr. Benitz spoke on the research being conducted at MIT Lincoln Laboratory and the opportunities for students. MIT Lincoln Laboratory is a federally funded research and development center which applies advanced technology to problems of national security. His presentation gave the participants a basic tutorial on SAR and its uses. He then

presented his research into Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) and the advances being made in Adaptive Signal Processing. The goal of his work is to increase the resolution of radar systems without increasing the size of the antenna.

- 10. Dr. Cynthia Warrick, Dean of the School of Mathematics, Science and Technology closed the meeting and presented a certificate of appreciation to Dr. Benitz.
- 11. The meeting was adjourned and followed by a reception and research poster session which included members of the high school program Burroughs Wellcome Fund who presented their summer research posters.